SIGNS

By Mickky

Yksityisalue

Two of my close friends just came back from one-week trip to Finland. Before they left for Finland, I had asked them to bring me as many photos of sign as they could, and from here on I'm going to upload a series of signs they had captured in Finland. They're kind enough to let me do this even though I didn't go to the country myself.

This sign seems the simplest one even if you don't understand Finnish, due to the figure used. Although I consulted the internet just to be sure, the overall purpose of the sign is let one know it's a private land and any access is prohibited. When I encounter a completely new language to me, at the outset I can do nothing but look up each word one by one, regardless of the grammar: Yksityisalue seems to mean a private land, for example. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.