Drastic Measures

"The R&A may have been prepared to allow Phil Mickelson a little leeway when he hit a moving ball to stop it rolling off the green a few weeks back but felt that this latest ruse to get the ball out of the water hazard in front of the 4th was a breach of etiquette too far."

In reality, the green keepers were busy dredging the water hazards around the course during our round this morning. In the process, they were revealing a multitude of balls that had been lost in them since they last did it; Henri & I more or less had to drag our playing partner, Phil, who we sometimes think enjoys finding balls at least as much as actually playing golf, away before our bags were full to overflowing with his bounty.

For the last 6 holes, I might as well have tried hitting the ball with one of these dredgers for all the good I was doing with my clubs.

I consoled myself with bread baking and a haircut this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.