fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Peace

When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace.
(Jimi Hendrix)


I didn't want to post a blip of my white poppy on remembrance day itself as I know some take offence. I am passionate about remembering the men and women who have fought for, and especially those who died or been injured for, their country. I have the utmost respect for them - we owe them so much. However, I don't necessarily have the same respect for the politicians who have led us into war.

An explanation of the meaning of the white poppy can be read here. The white poppy has never been intended to insult members of the forces, but only to promote the peace movement. Indeed in the shop where I found this one, there was a handwritten notice suggesting the white poppy can be worn alongside a red one, and this is what I have always chosen to do.

Give peace a chance

Back-blipped on 16 November

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.