The Way I See Things

By JDO

Emerald

Snuffle, snuffle, snuffle...

Cough, cough...

Grumble, mutter, sniff......

I have a virus. The problem with this is that my immune system is - to quote the correct medical terminology - all to cock. This means that I don't usually get a cold the way most people get cold, and the way I used to get colds: I generally get a thing that doesn't fully arrive, but sits around causing annoyance for two or three weeks before I can say reasonably confidently that it's left again. The last virus I got properly put me in bed for two days with a temperature of 102° - this is nowhere near that bad, but it's bad enough that I feel pretty rotten.

I am about as far away from Little Nell as you could imagine when I'm under the weather - Alien with a bad hangover would be closer to the mark. I should really be made to carry a bell, and ring it to warn people to keep away - not because I'm unduly infectious, but so that they don't make the mistake of trying to hold a conversation with me. After sitting around in a scowling heap all morning, doing rubbish on line and listening to political podcasts, while R delivered regular cups of Earl Grey and remarked sympathetically on the heat radiating from my person, I decided to shape myself and go out. Because if I didn't go out, I wouldn't have been out, and I knew that in the end not having been out would make me even crosser.

Grafton Wood seemed like a good idea until I arrived, when it began raining. Luckily the shower passed quite quickly, but being quite cold and very windy it definitely wasn't Brown Hairstreak weather, so I went to the pond in the hope of dragons. After a while the sun came out (patchily), and with it a clutch of Emerald Damselflies, including this tandem pair. The extra shows them as I first spotted them; she was ovipositing into the reed, while he protected his investment from several unattached males that were keen to displace him. Every few minutes he would move her to a different location, and although the one in my main image wasn't a good choice in terms of her being able to place her eggs, it was the closest they came to me, and I was able to get several shots that I think show quite nicely the difference between the male and female of this species.

During the brief appearances of the sun a couple of Southern Hawkers would turn up and work the pond, before disappearing again when the cloud cover returned; my best flight shot of the day is here, if you'd like to see it. It's perhaps not my best work, but in case you hadn't heard, I'm ill....

Snuffle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.