Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Bobbing

Up at 5 to catch the well-connected train and everything went swimmingly from then on.

I learned that the chap at the desk next to mine who took a shine to my chair and my mouse and who unplugged my keyboard for good measure is not, in fact, my line manager's boss but some senior bod who has nothing at all to do with the drawing office. He is supposed to sit at a hot desk way off in a corner but prefers to be in our midst disturbing the peace and we are politely requested to tolerate him.

I had my end of first week review in which I voiced my opinion of said chap sabotaging my workspace after I had spent time setting it up to ergonomic perfection. How lucky it was, I said, that I am not a timid school-leaver who may have been very upset. My patience was appreciated.

Apart from that, I am absolutely loving it. My line manager rubbed his hands with delight because staff turnover in my position has been rapid. I was told that most candidates take about six months to reach the level of understanding of the work that I have gained in the first week. I am shocked.

Hurrah! Here's hoping that Awesome is just around the corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.