Milly

I really messed up, today. On my training schedule - largely improvised, tbh - I was due to run twenty miles, this afternoon. I had a brand new route, from Kirkby Lonsdale, out through Kearstwick and Old Town, as far as the M6, and then down through Homescales to Crooklands, along the canal to Farleton Knott, and then up a single-track road to Hutton Roof and then back down to Kirkby Lonsdale. 

The first leg, to the M6, was about six miles, which should have been easy, despite the hills, but as I reached Old Hutton I was already feeling some tiredness on my legs. And by the time I reached Farleton Knott at thirteen miles, I knew that I was going to struggle. It was around this point that it occurred to me that I'd already done thirty five miles over the last week, including the trying run around Haweswater.

Anyway, suffice to say that I didn't much enjoy the last seven miles, which was largely uphill as far as Hutton Roof. By the time I arrived home, I was knackered. I managed my stretches, showered, and crashed out on the bed, failing even to make it as far as the sofa downstairs, which is my favoured spot for a post-run nap.

An hour or so later, Milly arrived home, and I managed to motivate myself to get up and dress, so that the two of us could head down to the Royal Barn for a drink. It was probably around this time that I decided to rest from running for a few days.

Dan was playing double bass and recording four or five jazz pieces with some friends, this afternoon, and Abi was hanging out with the drummer's sister, but when they were all done, we met up and collected a Chinese takeaway for dinner. My legs were already feeling better but I think I am going to take that break for three or four days.

****
-11.4 kgs
0 words
‘A History Of Seven Killings’ by Marlon James

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.