Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Sunflower

The water level at the duck pond is now so low that sunflowers have sprung up in one corner. I've not seen that before since the lake was reopened after being filled in for many years (I can't remember when that was, perhaps Robert10 might know...). The ducks still seem fine, they still have plenty of water, even though it's probably less than half full. 

I had some very sad news yesterday  - my good friend's husband died, he was only 66 and although he'd had a degenerative illness it was still sudden and unexpected. She is a widow at 53, with children the same age as mine (we met at ante-natal classes 22 years ago). It's just so desperately sad. She's strong and holding it together unbelievably well, I don't know how she does it - although I've watched her cope with many things over the last few years and been full of admiration. 

You just never know what's around the corner. Thank goodness. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.