SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Lost

I didn't get the sunset I hoped for when I went out with Django to the Estate, but the beautiful rising moon was an unexpected pleasure. Unfortunately, I think I dropped my phone in the excitement, and only realised later, and there's no-one at home from whom to borrow a phone to go and look for it! 

Well, when A came back I went off in the dark to look for my phone. The obvious thing to do is call it, but I thought it might be on "silent". Google allows a sound to be played for five minutes on a phone, even if it's on silent, and I tried this with difficulty since we have two Moto G4 phones! I'd almost given up, having scoured both sides of the  pathway through the turnip field where I was sure I'd dropped it, and gone a lot further back along my walk [Facebook activity privet I'd lost it less than 29 minutes before I'd taken the moon photo!] But, I instructed the sound one last time and heard a faint tinkling! As I walked it got stronger, and there was my phone, well away from the path and without its case. The case was also important since it has my bank, bus, UoE and Tesco cards. I spun round and spotted it a few metres away - I'd got a good headtorch on! The mystery was, how had it come to be 50m from the path through the area of turnips I'd been looking in? I don't imagine anyone else had come along and found it since it was dusk when I lost it. The only conclusion: DJANGO! He must have picked it up when I dropped it! I remember him going ahead and having to be called back when I first realised I'd lost it. And carrying it and then dropping it from his mouth would have separated the case and phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.