Late August: The Green Shimmer

It was a Friday and my husband and I decided to go swimming at a little pond we know on a hill not far away. We took our swim fins and chairs and bags and a cooler, and away we went.

The pond sits on a big sunny hill, and the water wasn't quite as chilly as last time, when we pronounced it to be somewhere between Whipple Dam and Greenwood Furnace temps. This time it was warmer than both, but not by a lot.

After we swam like otters through the cool, clean water, we were drying off and changing clothes and sitting in the sun. I was feeling philosophical, and I thought about seizing the day, and how important it is to go and do the fun things when the weather is nice.

And I thought about sweet summer, which is slipping away as we head into late August. It's here and then gone, like the green shimmer, a reflection of trees on water.

It's not a question, but a lesson learned in time
It's something unpredictable, but in the end it's right
I hope you had the time of your life

The song: Green Day, Time of Our Lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.