More digger wasps....

When I left for church this morning the weather was beautiful--sunny and cool. Within an hour of getting home, the temperature started to climb and the fog started rolling in off the Lake, so Tom and I drove over to South Shore Park so I could take some pictures. No sooner did we get there than the fog began to lift, so we just walked a little bit. As we headed back to the car we passed this huge mass of milkweed, so I stopped to look at what insects were on it. Imagine my surprise, after seeing my very first digger wasp yesterday, to see at least 4 of them flying around. I'd just started taking a picture when one of them moved to a different bloom, and I realized there was another wasp already on it. Then I realized there was a third wasp on it, and managed to get this shot before any of them flew off. Normally I wouldn't blip the same thing two days in a row, but having two females and the male all together was too unusual to pass up. I didn't realize that the females' wings had a bluish color, and the male, (as it usually is in nature), is so colorful! I put a couple in the extras for a little different view of them.  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.