Farmers market dog

I had a productive Saturday. I got up early and went to the downtown farmers market, where I got salsa, strawberry jam, bread and ate a waffle from a food truck. I also met this dog.

Later, I went to a ballgame to watch the Diamondbacks blow it in the ninth and lose in the 10th. So that makes me 1-18 or whatever abysmal number it is when I go to games. Seriously, I am cursed. I don't know why they fall apart and lose when I go to games in person.

Sen. John McCain died today. He died when I was walking around the ballpark during batting practice, and it started hitting the news cycle about an hour and a half later. They announced it on the big screen around the fifth inning, and people gave a standing ovation.

McCain was MY senator. He was in office practically my entire life. He was the only one I felt I knew, even though I never met him. He bucked his party and went with what he thought was best for his constituents, though he did some questionable things worthy of criticism.

He introduced a bill that Navajos and Hopis felt would take their water and give it to power corporations. He gave rise to Sarah Palin, which brought about the tea party and Donald Trump's presidency. He was against making Martin Luther King Jr. Day a holiday in Arizona.

But he was a statesman and a war hero. He will be missed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.