Just another brick in the window

I saw this brick in a window and had to look up what I guessed was the Victoria Brick Company. Interesting history!  
Speaking of history, I was pleased to see this article on the CBC website this morning.  I've added an extra of a photo and quote of Sir John A. Macdonald that one of my Indigenous friends posted on Facebook.  There's been a fair bit of controversy about the removal of his statue from city hall in Victoria. I believe that it's not about erasing history but illuminating by bringing facts to light. Another quote on my friend's page:  "Everybody complaining bout Fake News, Indian Country been dealing with that 4ever - they're called history books."  I know many people who were taken from family and put into residential schools and the pain they endured.  I know others who suffer from the transgenerational effects of the schools.  Their resilience amazes me.  We need to acknowledge the injustices of the past so that we can move forward as individuals and as a society. I'm thankful that my friends were so willing to share experiences with me and add to my knowledge about the real history of Canada. I'm thankful to have worked in an Indigenous program that opened my eyes even wider to the past and how hard many Indigenous people are working so hard to keep their cultures and languages alive.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.