Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Where are my peanut dispensers?

Poor Flossie!  She was feeling quite put out today without her human peanut dispensers at her beck and call.  She got rather spoiled the last couple of days with PhotoMatt, KangaZu and company handing peanuts to her on demand.  

In fact, none of the outdoor menagerie got much attention today since Hubs and I decided to move my big oak roll-top desk up to my work space.  Let me tell you, that is a very heavy piece of furniture and even when disassembled (which is no easy fete, either) each piece weighs a LOT.  Poor Hubs did most of the work, aided by a dolly to haul each big piece up a long flight of stairs.  And then we had to put it all back together, set up my computer, etc.  An all-day project.  But I'm happy to say that I am sitting upstairs in my new space, at my lovely oak desk, looking out over the Bistro as I type this.  

And Hubs has rearranged his office, taking advantage of the space now available so his more functional now.  Two happy campers.  

In between the moving and setting up, I also released 12 monarchs.  I had one more dedication left to make and I also wanted to let one go in honor of Senator John McCain who succumbed to cancer yesterday.  I didn't always agree with his politics but I found so very much to admire about him.  Our country lost someone very special.  The other butterflies, not having anyone in particular to fly for, were released with a few words to send them on their way.  They each fly for someone who was loved, even if I don't know who those people are.  

And now, I think it's time to order a pizza and pour a glass of wine.  We've earned it.

And if you need a hummer-fix, check Extra.

xo
Debbi

PS:  this year's count for monarchs released stands at 112.  Approx. 50 more to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.