A Cairo sunset

Often spectacular, and tonight’s didn’t fail to delight.

A lazy morning at the hotel before a three hour bus trip. The trains were full being Eid, so this was the only option. With roads that are not always the best and over tired drivers, it can be a hazard, but all went well. Alhamdulillah.

An early evening walk around Zamalek which is quiet due to the holiday, and an early night. But sadly, and tragically so, we found a young street kid face down on the footpath on one of the busy roads. I felt everyone was oblivious but me. I didn’t know what to do. My Egyptian friend said he thought he was alive but who knows. Do we wake him and feed him? Do we leave him? Should a foreigner get involved? I hate these situations. It’s not the first. My friend would’ve helped me. It was not good, and unfortunately not surprising. And the sad irony was the billboard above him advertising the latest glam housing estate.

While I’m glad to be back, some of the realities here are confronting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.