SueAsh2013

By SueAsh2013

The Lowry ... fabulous place to escape ...

This evening we were seeing Warhorse on its last tour. What an amazing piece of theatre sprung from a powerful piece of writing. I think we've seen this 4 times now and I have not failed to be moved by the singing/acting/premise of the piece. What a mad thought to send men on horseback into artillery vollies and, later, tanks! What were they thinking? I know, hindsight is an amazing thing.

I spoke with a retired officer from the 'local' Hussars a few years ago and he told me of the regimental story of the officers giving up their horses in the 1930s for tanks. He was very discreet about what happened to their horses at that point. I dread to think. I've never had the guts to see the film version of this book ... the puppetry is enough to bring all the horrors home. Oh ... and the goose never got any less funny!

Our next trip back to the Lowry was to see the final date of Sting's musical The Last Ship. Powerful in a different way ... Love this place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.