Sketching by the Sheffield Canal

Our second sketch day of the summer season (we were a bit late starting this year) and because Jan wanted rust and an industrial setting we gathered at Centretainement and then made our way across to the canal, which by the way is pretty green apart from the odd patch of graffiti and scrapped computer parts.  I have to say the `green’ suited me today and because I wasn’t in the photo I’ll post my drawing as an extra (if it ever transfers itself via my iPhoto account to this laptop).  We did eventually arrive at Forgemasters and the gritty and noisy part of Sheffield (as much to do with the traffic as it is to do with Forgemasters) though I didn’t really find a place to settle and I ended up standing to draw - not really comfortable. So I left them a bit early and walked back to Meadowhell where my car was parked.  And `hell’ was a fairly accurate description of it this afternoon.  Just think if all those people could have been persuaded to come and draw instead of shop!  

p.s. I rather regret not photographing everyone’s individual drawings.  It’s fascinating what people choose to focus on and everyones styles are so different.  Maybe I need to think about doing that next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.