More of the same.

Followers will start to drop me because I talk of nothing but the activity of the Grim Reaper.

This happened last night - very close to my house. A similar event happened 4 or 5 years ago. Tragic.

As I walked home from work, I passed the spot and there were people laying flowers and weeping. 

I walked further along the tow path and came across a very distressed girl. She was wailing and throwing herself around. I could not just walk past her but she was  too distressed to talk.  I realised she was with a man who had 2 bikes, three big bags and 2 rucksacks.

"Whatever is the matter?" I asked.

"Our friend has died." came the reply.

"The girl on the bridge?"

"No. Our friend. I have just taken the call."

The girl had run off at this point and I suggested he (Lewis) went after her.

It transpired they both lived on boats.

Lewis' boat was down the lock flight and her boat was right across town.  They could not get back up the canal due the accident last night and needed to get back to her boat.

In the end, Clive took all their stuff in his car and they cycled. They were both distressed. Then Lewis told me he had found another friend hanging last week. That hit home! What on earth is going on?

Just as we were crossing the bridge, 20 or 30 young people were surveying the scene and laying flowers. It is tragic.

And my S-in-L, who has been so brave, has now come crashing down. Heartbreaking.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.