Wide Wednesday . . .ART

This afternoon Annabel and I were in Nelson to visit the bookshop called Volume.  Yes a real bookshop with a varied collection of books that you can take off the shelf and browse.  Confronted with so many new authors I went for something familiar.  Anne Tyler Clock Dance and Margaret Drabble who I have heard of but never read, The Dark Flood Rises.
After coffee we decided the sculpture garden behind the Suter Gallery would give me my blip.  This blip is the obvious one but I also liked the extra.  It is the view of an office window with a painting on an easel facing the path below.  People can stand and look at art rather than a window.   The main blip is a stainless steel and corten steel sculpture called Push The Sky Away by Graham Bennett who was born in Nelson.  It always makes me think of the Nic Cave song of the same title.  I found this uplifting quote from Mr Cave about the songs meaning.  
"We all have this feeling of the world folding in on us. Whether it's environmental, the economy, nuclear or whatever, I don't think there's anyone on the planet who's walking around thinking things are okay.
"So to me, there's this idea that we need to carry on and do what we do. The song is optimistic in that respect. Of course it's impossible to push the sky away but we need to try."


P.S:  putting the stems of hellebores in boiling water for 30 secs did work, see extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.