Border Tails

By Swannie

A change of view!

This morning, at five past seven my phone rang. It was Lauren, the commercial manager who is also in charge of all the transport. Matt had broken down in Cowdenbeath and could I take a van up to him? Within fifteen minutes, I was at work. Unfortunately the van that I was supposed to use today, the one I had the keys for, didn’t have a big enough refrigeration space so I had to wait on the operations manager coming in with the keys to the building so that I could get a different one.

Of course, I hit the Edinburgh bypass at the wrong time and had a twenty minute delay, but I got to Matt just after his van had been winched onto the breakdown truck. He took the one I had brought up and I climbed up into the truck to get a lift back with the offending van. I tried to get a decent shot of the Queensferry Crossing, but the windscreen had lots of chips it it. This was the best I could do.

Tomorrow, I must try to get a swap so that I can get next Thursday off for a funeral. My friend Peter, who was a fellow bus driver, although we never actually worked together, died on Monday aged 39 leaving a wife and three kids. He was such a nice guy and worked with his sister to run the family firm in Jedburgh. I will miss his patter.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.