Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Maiden flight

This morning we walked to the Leisure Centre for a swim.  The chap was very helpful and showed us around, and worked out a way for me to swim a bit cheaper than paying per swim (Mr T gets to swim for free during certain times).  We had a drink in the cafe where while we waited for the kids to be evicted!

It is always a bit strange going to a different pool - everything in different places and one entrance too and from the changing rooms (Mr T went the wrong way!) but didn't get into trouble.

They had a funny way of using lanes with no speed or direction signs, and one wide lane with an overtake section in the middle!  It took me a few lengths to calibrate the distance to the wall for flip turns as they had different markings and it was 3.75m at the deep end.  I pushed it a bit more today, and my shoulder was not happy, but now I know!

Then we had a lunch and they made me a special tuna pasta as everything else had peppers in and I am allergic too them.

Then we walked back the shorter way the chap told us about and found it linked back to Sandy Water Park and the Millennium Coastal Path.

A quick drink and then the plan was to ride along the coast and test fly the drone.  Mr T was very nervous and kept telling me I would crash!  Well I have to fly it to be able to crash it!  We tried a patch of grass close by the apartments (seen bottom in an 11 iPhone photo panorama stitch) but it wouldn't calibrate.  I think it was too much metal from the railway line and maybe something underground.

Anyway we decided to take it too the beach (even though "there was water") and try and calibrate it.  It worked first time and the tide was still a long way out so I launched the drone.  I was a bit nervous so it was only about 6-8m high, so the shots don't look too aerial but I didn't lose control or crash it!  I have shown the drone in my extra.

Overall quite a good day, despite the return of the nagging ache in my shoulder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.