Apple rings.

My cousin's husband joked that he didn't know it was possible to tell an apples age by its rings. 

My cousin is a gem. I took my apples to her house this evening and she juiced them for me. There was about three and a half litres of juice and a basin full of pulp. 

The juice is delicious, sharp and summery. I will freeze most of it and take it to work when the weather is awful to remind me of climbing fences and getting scratched by brambles and the evening Edinburgh light on a bright late summer evening. 

We sat with a cup of tea and had a bit of a catch-up. Her garden is thriving as usual. 

Then I ran for the bus. Caught it by seconds. 

I gave my cousin a bar of Green and Black's chocolate to say thank you. 

This is what an industrial strength juicer does to whole apples. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.