tempus fugit

By ceridwen

A bit of sky

Sometimes when the sun is shining and the sky is blue a bit of it (sky that is) seems to flake off and flutter around visiting flowers. Try as I might to capture it with my inadequate lens I have as much luck as a lepidopterist with a holey net. I think I've got it but then discover I haven't. But never mind because the colour's the thing, regardless of the definition. 

This is the male common blue, I had a bit more success with the female of the species (extra) which sports a different costume, abandoning flash for subtlety in the interests of camouflage.

These butterflies don't stray far from their food plants in unimproved grassland but some animals are incredibly wide-ranging, something we are only just learning about via modern tracking devices. See here for some extraordinary maps of wild life journeys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.