Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Spray It

At work, people from all sorts of disciplines and from all over the country submit requests to the drawing office for updated drawings, and my line manager assigns the tasks to individual staff members according to their experience and workload. I have not kept up to date with this software for the past fourteen years and only toyed with it to make little sketches or photo-montages, but it is an incredibly powerful tool and I am really relishing getting back to grips with it again. I feel a bit like a small person in the middle of a large field with a very good pony at the end of a long rope.

The majority of drawings are routine updates which interest nobody but are an essential part of the business. A small handful are special requests requiring a bit of thought. I have been doing a mixture of the two, and since I have begun issuing finished drawings back to clients I am starting to receive responses. “Excellent! Thank You!”, “Perfect! Just what I was looking for, Thanks”.

I got a little teary. I'm not used to being thanked. It's rather nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.