Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Day 9 Astir Odysseus, Kos

Getting towards the end of an amazing holiday and Chris and I ventured up the mountain behind the hotel to visit the picturesque village of Zia. I have to say that I was very brave because I have a massive fear of heights and one of the side effects is that I can't go on mountain roads! I spoke to the staff at the hotel and they assured me that the road wasn't too bad so we booked a taxi last night and headed off early before the crowds. The road was very windy but didn't have any of the scary sheer drops that some mountain roads have so I didn't need to close my eyes at all!
Zia is beautiful but in danger of being spoilt by tourism like Lindos in Rhodes. The views from the village were lovely and you could see the salt lake, Turkey and many little villages underneath. The view out to sea was a bit hazy but still worth seeing. The majority of tourists visit Zia at night for the spectacular sunset but we wanted to avoid the crowds.
This is a special blip for me as it's my 1000th entry even though I've been blipping for many years. I find it difficult to blip every day and I prefer to just do special days so that I can look back at all the memories from the past year. Thanks for all the stars, favourites, comments and views, I really appreciate them all and the lovely blip community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.