Recce

We're lucky enough to have a last burst of Summer before the arrival of Autumn shortly so I took advantage and went out to do a recce for the Hobblers.  Early doors though it was off to the hospital to get a diagnosis of the leurgy which came up on my arm whilst we were on holiday in the States.  Thankfully it is just a wart and is now healing nicely.  We actually returned to the car two minutes before my appointment time so how was that for NHS efficiency?!

A quick lunch out on the patio and then I walked down to school (where the Hobblers always start out from) and set the various walking apps to go.  The route was a familiar one on my bike clockwise, but I haven't walked it anti-clockwise in many years. It was over to Cullingworth village, on to the Great Northern Trail across Hewenden Viaduct, to the hamlet of Harecroft and back down the favourite bit of my 'cycling home from school'  route on Bents Lane, with a detour to the garden centre for an ice cream before arriving back in the village.  I was pleasantly stopped for a while by an ex student who I haven't seen in many years, good to catch up Daniel! 

The route is going to be a toughie for hobbling, 5.5 miles and several hills, but we need a new target now that 5k runs are regular occurrences.  Some hobblers have signed up for half marathons and several of us are doing the Bradford 10k next March so that's the aim.

It was good to see Hewenden Viaduct in the sunshine and, although I've blipped it before from several angles, it had to be my blip today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.