Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

having his bottle....

Took my visitor out to the elephant orphanage this morning to see the four babies having their bottles, before I took him to the airport!  They were in a playful mood today and it was so nice to see them having fun!

For those who have not seen my ellie blips before, these babies are rescued in the national park in Zambia, usually after their mothers have been poached for their tusks.  The smallest one at present is only 7 months old!  The elephants are kept in this facility until they are around 3 years old and ready to be weaned off milk.  Then they are transferred to another facility in Kafue national park where they are monitored until they are around 18 years when they eventually are released into the wild!  Its an incredible programme and as we heard today, if we don't look after our elephants, in less than 10 years there will be none left to look at!  

Am quite tired today after all the driving I did this week!  Need a good sleep tonight!  Am leaving here on Monday for 4 months to go back to Ireland so I need to start thinking about what I need to pack! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.