Floyen' high

Norwegians seem to enjoy coffee culture, so we have embraced it too. In any event, mother can't go more than a few hours without a cappuccino. She also has an impressive metabolism and maintains a schoolgirl figure despite a penchant for cake.

I walked up Mount Fløyen, which overlooks Bergen, to work up an appetite. I joined the family in the cafe at the top, where we continued the homage to Norwegian coffee and cake.

My sister joined me for the walk downhill. It wasn't too hot but my neck did lots of sweating, that had a cheesy pong. Apparently this is gustatory sweating, a result of recently ingesting food and then exerting oneself. A new physiological discovery...

In the evening at the central Fishmarket, we lost my dad and I was momentarily transported to Liam Neeson in the film Taken during which his daughter is kidnapped. Maybe my parents' now-mortgage-free house is of interest to would-be abductors, as I can't think of other prized assets. We found him later and realised the hustle and bustle of Bergen had separated us.

Despite the drama we all agreed that the city is a 'pleasant place to poke around.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.