Elba Monument

I was disappointed to find that I could not visit this bizarre monument,  in a now private field just outside Kendal, that I pass frequently and discovered was erected to celebrate the imprisonment of Napoleon Bonaparte.  Yes this is Kendal and I too am asking "Why here?" Unfortunately Bonaparte had escaped by the time the monument was finished , so the local Tory fund raisers  missed off the plaque . 100 years later another local paid for the missing plaque which reportedly ( I could not read it in person because I could not get into the field)  reads :-
"In honour of William Pitt the Pilot that weathered the storm" Elba. 

It is said there are fine views over Kendal from the Monument. Its shame one can't go and stand at its base. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.