Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

While Making Other Plans

I went out to the garden with the intention of finding a wildflower in the wild overgrown area that used to be a managed - well, somewhat managed - flowerbed. A wildflower that could double for WFW and FF. But then I got absorbed in trying to get a photo of the most aggravating monarch butterfly ever. It was flitting around in our fenced vegetable garden and every time I went into the garden it flitted out of the garden, so I would go out of the garden and then it would flit back in. The fence, of course, meant I had only one way in and out through, while it just floated merrily over the fence anywhere it liked. At one point inside the garden I noticed this hummingbird clearwing moth and took a few shots of it. I never got a shot of the monarch. Not one.

But! I liked this photo of the moth so much I decided to blip it - very chuffed that I caught its wings. And I'm going to say it's for Flower Friday, because... ageratum! And I'm also going to say it's for Wild Flower Week because the ageratum self seeds and grows wild here and there all around our property ever since I originally got a plant from my mother many years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.