Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

I created a (blip) monster!

Trotter: I want to keep a journal, but I don't want to have to carry a note book round with me the whole time

Me: Well, why don't you use blipfoto? It's this site a use to share photos, it's a great way to see what the world is doing on any one day... You could upload a photo a day, and write your journal on there as you go?

Trotter: Blipfoto... you know it's spelt wrong right? Hmm.. ok, well I'll give it a go.

---

Little did I know that I'd created a blipping monster and set it loose on the world!

Trotter just rocketted past her 100th blip in about as many days and topped it all with a trully beautiful photo of a lioness looking right down the barrel of her lens. In 100 days she's uploaded as many photos as I have in 2 years, and has twice as many views!

Her secret? Well the latest photo of the local big cat is a pretty good clue - stunning photos and a lovely day by day acount of her adventure keeping us all hooked. Of course I do take some credit for teaching her everything I know about blipping... *ahem*

Maybe it's the fact that my photos are lacking a certain... je ne sais quoi, maybe some people can just write in a way which draws people in day after day. Or maybe it's to do with practice. But I need to drum up more traffic for my entries!

So what of everyone else here? Well, today I saw a blip of beans on toast with 140 views and 52 comments! (you know who you are!), and countless others that post something... ANYTHING every single day without fail.

If I actively look for something to take a photo of every day, maybe I'll force my self to get out and do something worthy of sharing with the world!

So today is a new start (again), and I will have a go at this whole 365 blips a day thing.

Stay tuned for a 2013 which will see me jetting off to the other side of the world, learning how to scuba dive on the great barrier reef, moving in with my girlfriend and getting a cat.

Also on the cards for what's left of 2012 is vollunteering in a homeless shelter at Christmas, rants about trying to work out what to buy the brother and sister-in-law who have everything, and if I struggle for blipping inspiration - a photo of my broken laundry basket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.