Back in Alex

I arrived back in Alex at 6 tonight as I fly back to Kw8 early tomorrow. A slightly eventful train trip when the outer window pane shattered. Thankfully the inner pane meant I was ok, just shocked. Much kindness shown by others on the train with a few ‘Alhamdulillah’s’ (thank god) that nothing else happened.

The hotel staff remembered me from last week and they gave me a slightly larger room. They were very welcoming and the concierge organised airport transfer and breakfast box in an instant.

Dinner was with a friend I know from Kuwait, and her brother - both teachers. Lots of fun.

The photo was from my room. Imagine down below the five large mats on the footpath for evening prayers, with a group of 100 men praying in a busy street. Buses, horse and cart, many, many people. And around the corner, overlooking the beach the outdoor cafe with Feyruz on the sound system and people smoking shisha. This is Egypt, juxtaposition upon juxtaposition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.