Riwaka Resurgence #2

A drive up the Riwaka valley was on the agenda for today - a good day for it too as going there means driving through Motueka and my favourite shoe shop is closed on Sundays, so I couldn't be tempted by more shoes.

Last time we were at the Resurgence there had been a lot of rain so the river looked very different today. Where the water comes through the rock here is a full on waterfall in wetter weather (see September blip). It's hard to believe it's the same place but I can assure you that is is - I know this because I got caught on the same tree branch getting up onto the rocks to photograph it.

I was pleased today because the gentler mood of the river lets you see how incredibly pure this water is - those rocks in the water are at least 30 feet (10 metres) down. This shot is SOOC - I haven't played with it at all - so the colour is pretty true.

We used to dive in here as teenagers. You wouldn't get me doing it nowadays - although it is totally safe when the river is as gentle as this, it is icy cold because at this point you are only 100 metres down river from where it bubbles out of the spring from below ground. Brrrr.

It seemed necessary, after being here, to follow the footsteps of our last visit and also call in to Kaiteriteri for a coffee and a look at the beach - see my flickr to make sure it's still there.

While we were at the Riwaka I spotted a swallows nest in the eave of a roofed picnic bench. Dumbledorian spotted this wee swallow sitting on top of the roof - and the parents were darting around in quite a tizz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.