Jamil

The last apple fell yesterday; the leaves are starting to turn brown; it is, in some counting systems, the first day of autumn.

I spent some of it cycling out of town with a refugee I know to a place I used to work which I hoped might be able to help him develop his new business. Great to see people I haven't seen for a couple of years and to find them all so welcoming and kind. 'Jamil,' he said, as he came out grinning. (Arabic for 'beautiful'.)

Next I mowed the lawn for the first time this year - finally some rain has persuaded it to grow - and re-weeded all the places in the garden that I rescued from serious overgrowth earlier in the year. I don't want that to happen again.

Then I rewarded myself by slinging the hammock up under the apple tree and lying under the green-filtered sun, perhaps for the last time this year.


Thanks for the completely unexpected hearts yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.