GracieG

By GracieG

Bringing in the Catch

M accompanied me to my hospital appointment at Cromer, for my annual glaucoma and eye pressure check-up, and I was surprised to find out that I have cataracts!  Which was a bit of a shock as I’m far too young ha ha!  Apparently, you can start getting them in your forties which I didn’t realise.  Because I have glaucoma I can have them removed early as they will help with my eye condition, although, of course, the procedure involves surgery and is not without risk.  Or I can leave them until they become problematic.  So, a decision has to be made weighing up the benefits and the risks, but I have two months to think about it before I need to go back again for another check.
 
So, to soften the blow, Mark and I went into the middle of Cromer and had lunch at one of our favourite seafood restaurants and then had a wander along the promenade.  While we were standing there admiring the view, one of the fishing boats came in and we watched the process of it being hauled up the beach by an ancient and rusty tractor, so that was my blip sorted.  The extra is them unloading the catch into the lorry, but all the crates were covered over by damp sacking to keep the contents fresh, but I’m guessing it would be lobsters and crabs.  (M had lobster for his lunch, so I suspect that it didn’t need to travel many food miles to reach his plate.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.