Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Planes, and boats and trains.....

We had a drive over to the Nene Valley Railway this morning as 60009 'Union of South Africa' was visiting for the weekend. It's probably the last chance I'll get to see it as the owner is retiring it from service next year to live out its days in his private museum in Scotland. Also in steam was resident Battle of Britain Class No. 34081 '92 Squadron' which I've added as an extra (with a boat in the foreground) along with 60163 'Tornado', which is still recuperating here after it suffered damage at high speed in April, but which will hopefully be back in service soon. I've also added a shot of a lorry so that's all the ground transport covered.

And the planes? We drove back via Sywell Airfield where there was a 'fly-in' airshow taking place. I don't think there were any displays to speak of so I wasn't too bothered about seeing the planes but I did want a look at the on-site hotel which is a wonderful example of Art Deco architecture, which I love. I've added an extra of the outside but sadly there were too many cars parked in front to get a decent shot, but I wasn't disappointed by it, or the interior.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.