Hover fly

I had some other blip ideas for today, but the sun started shining on our rocket flowers and the hoverflies were very active. I tried for ages to get a good photo of them actually hovering, but although they sometimes hovered in one place for 5 seconds at a time, they seemed determined to move as soon as I pointed the camera at them! However this one obliged with a nice pose once it had settled on this flower. The iridescence on its wings was a lucky chance capture.

(It's interesting that I often seem to get better close-ups with my 12-100 Olympus zoom lens than I do with the dedicated 60mm macro. I tried both today but the shots with the zoom were quite a lot better, although naturally you can't focus so close. Do any other Olympus users sometimes find the 60mm macro disappointing? - it can often produce super shots, and seems to work well with the extension tubes for super-macros, but at other times it seems less than satisfactory.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.