View from Mont Joly

Well not strictly true, this is the view from the Tête du Vanay at 1859m on the way up. The actual summit at 2525m was cloaked in cloud and afforded no such panorama of Alpine giants.
I'd parked at the church in St Nicolas de Véroce at 1171m to recreate the amount of ascent and the final altitude of the main day's on a Tour du Mont Blanc. I wanted to see how I'd deal with the pain. The ankle had other ideas and only twinged a bit. No worse than a teaching day on the Lakeland Fells. I give up, I've no idea. 
Still it was a grand day out. 

Today's extra is for Knottman2. 
I always enjoy his (grand children's) moth trap pictures and the occasional flutterbys. 
I think this is a Mountain Clouded Yellow, frankly I can't tell the difference from a normal one, except this was found at 2400m in the Alps! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.