Harvest

The promised rain did not really materialise. But I had a lazy day anyway. In the morning I went to the local producers' fair. It was low key but interesting and I had a couple of interesting chats with small organic growers in the Casentino.

I bought a nice, very sturdy blacksmith-made trowel, spelt (farro) flour, a string of white garlic, dried porcini mushrooms from the Pratomagno and a few Sambudello sausages - fresh pork-based sausages with a smattering of offal.

As thunder was grumbling when I got back to the house I picked figs, apples and veg. Most of the apple trees have been sorely neglected but they look like traditional Casentino varieties. The Union of Mountain Comunes (local councils) runs a nursery that stocks many of the traditional fruit tree varieties and I'm looking forward to paying a visit.

The sun broke through and I was suddenly breaking out in a sweat.

Later I had the sausages for lunch and they were delicious - with a strong fennel flavouring.  They are a speciality of the Casentino.

I watched the Italian Grand Prix on Italian TV which was really nicely presented in a non-partisan way.

I continue to make my way through John Bew's fabulous biography of Irish and UK politician Castlereagh.

The evening drew in chilly with the ground barely wet from the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.