Back in June last year I did a Learn to Lead course, day 2 of which was at Bamford Edge, and today Mary and I were back there because I wanted to re-climb Bamford Wall, and as I suspected it's much easier to climb a route under supervision/instruction than it is under normal conditions.

Today I dithered at the crux for so long that the guy on the next route offered to place a piece of my gear above me to give me enough confidence to make the move... and then I did it.

Next we moved onto Recess Crack, another route that I lead on the course, and the photo shows Mary at the bottom.  "You'll love it" I said, but she didn't love it and I doubt she'll take any notice of what I say ever again, and I didn't much love it either when I followed Mary up.  Again, another case of being super-psyched while on the course.

We only did one more route as the dose of adrenaline I got from Bamford Wall resulted in my feeling really tired.  I started the route (Hasta la Vista Corner) and then backed off, whereupon Mary said she'd do it and then found it rather challenging... but she finished.

A very enjoyable day (now I'm not stuck on that bl**dy ledge), we both pushed ourselves and won!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.