Up, Up and Away

We got up early this morning, to make the most of the day before Alan had to leave for the airport, and it was lovely and warm so we went for a walk along the river at Southease.  We had a drink at the YHA cafe before heading home, and were intrigued to see that they have four camping Pods - it's a really nice spot and they're really cheap at £25.99 for a midweek night and £35.99 for a weekend.  They look the same as those at the site where we stayed in the shepherd's hut, but there they were about £99 per night!

We headed back home at 1pm, as Alan's taxi was coming at 2.45pm and he needed to finish his packing, and while he did that I mowed the lawn.  Then once he'd gone, I went for a swim - I expected the outdoor pool to be really busy due to the nice weather, but it wasn't so I had a really nice swim.

From there I drove to Wisborough Green where I'd seen there was a hot air balloon festival.  It's about an hour away, but I'm so glad that I went, it was amazing to see the balloons, they're so big!   I've only ever seen them in the air before, but to see them on the ground and then being filled with air was really interesting.  There were about 14 balloons in total but as it was on the village green, they didn't all go up at once, it was one at a time.  This particular balloon went so much higher than the others, and as you can see, it narrowly missed a puncture from the plane!  I wondered why it was so high, but then I noticed a guy had parachuted from it.   

It really was a fantastic event, and the perfect night for it!  

It was difficult to choose my blip tonight, so I've added a few others to my extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.