Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

A Happy Man

The photo of a photo taken circa 1947. Summer holidays were spent with Grandad and Grandma at the old house where they raised 12 children. 

My late brother is front left and our sister in front of him looking characteristically the poppet I know her to have been. I was not born yet.  Our other brother is the tallest one of the boys. I recognise aunts and uncles and cousins because their form is indelible and that curious personality leaps out at me that you feel looking at photographs of people we know well and love.

The railway had gone that transformed the north of Queensland and had meant people travelled sophisticated distances to catch up with family in other regional areas. 

To get there for Christmas family now either travelled by private transport or caught the White Car as it was called up the Gillies Range as we did from the coast and were collected by somebody in a jalopy to go the final distance to the old house where all the fun was.

I have previously talked about Nymbool and the previous blip relates to this blip showing there are stories to tell aplenty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.