si_b

By si_b

Closer than close ...

Sooo, I think that it's been discussed before that I have a little bit of GAS ( gear acquisition syndrome ) and that it tends to be focused on laying my hands on the weirdest things that I possibly can attach to the front of my camera. I have a far larger than reasonable selection of lenses from the U.S.S.R., a couple from Japan & Germany - most of which date from the 1970's onwards - my oldest lens, I think is 1930's. I have projector lenses, I have lenses that have been messed around with ( reversed elements or pseudo-anamorphic ) I even have, somehow, managed to get three of the same lens - one in a mount that I don't even have an adaptor for currently. ( And that's before we get into the medium format film, micro format film, 35mm film etc. ) 

But this lens is one of the best yet - it's monumentally weird - I can find next to nothing out about it at all - it's an F mount Nikon lens f/1.4 - f/8 - no focusing, because it's basically a microscope. It's a 10x magnification tube that you've got to move relative to the object to get focus with. It's a nightmare to use, and I love it so much already !

What you can see above is standard, 4mm paracord - if you view large on black, that would make each of the smaller strands that you can see in each part of the weave is less than the diameter of a human hair - by a reasonable amount ...

Now all I need is to get an insect to sit still while I wave a camera around :-P

Comfort zone ? Well, I like the comfort afforded by knowing that the paracord is strong enough to - theoretically - hold about 250kgs (550lbs) which makes it ideal for using to tie things that I want to stay attached ! I also am within my comfort zone using a new weird lens, makes me happy :-D ( although rocking backwards and forwards fractions of an inch for focus is _outside_ my comfort zone ! )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.