Choose Joy

By Energia

I'm glad I lived

Today is Labor Day in the US. Sometimes we remember the meaning of the holiday and are thankful for the people who suffered and sometimes died so that children did not have to work in dangerous conditions, so that we had safety standards for workplaces. Many of us have sick leave. 

I was doing chores when I thought that if I were going to write an autobiography I would title it, "I'm glad I lived." 

When I was thinking about what I would blip I realized that three years ago  today was when I did not die. Three years ago today I did not go into a coma. Three years ago today I got up. 

Last year two men assaulted me. I figured out during the fight what it was they wanted and if they had asked I would have given them the phone I had deliberately paid $50 for so I could hand it over if someone with a gun or knife requested it. They didn't ask. They attacked. I fought. I won. I got up.

I don't know that the poison I fired at the hornet's nest hurt this bee, but it was on my front step and it wasn't doing well. I turned it around. I turned it around again. Then I moved it to my front plant container. I found it turned over. I mixed some sugar in water and helped the bee have some. I hope I don't find it turned around in the morning. If I do, at least she had sugar water before she died. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.