Miffy

By Miffy

Castlepoint………

……………………….Lighthouse


The overnight weather in Wellington was stormy, in fact across much of NZ and continued this morning as we travelled further north to the coastal settlement of Castlepoint on the East Coast of the North Island, NZ.

We eventually moved ahead of the rain and spent several hours in cold windy conditions walking to the lighthouse, which was built in 1913,  and climbing higher to the rocky knob above. 

First Extra. This cluster of gulls were extremely vocal when a rogue wave crashed over the reef and swamped their temporary home, staying airborne until they considered it was safe to return to the rocks.

Then we strode along the beach to the entrance of the lagoon and watched the huge waves roaring between the rocky cliffs. I couldn’t resist capturing them with a slow shutter which is included as the Second Extra.

The Third Extra was taken from above the lighthouse looking towards the 162 metre high Castle Rock.

We are snug and dry in a motel as we listen to the rain beating on the roof - yes, it finally caught up late this evening.


Your response and congratulations on Marcus’ success was very much appreciated and I send you all a very big thank you.
The internet isn’t very reliable here so I will catch up with your journals as and when I can.


UPDATE -  I have managed to connect to the internet briefly, but it is impossible to upload entries to my Blip journal.  I have decreased the size and quality of the photos in the hope they will upload, but that too was completely unsuccessful. I have one more option and if that fails I will add backblips to my journal when we return to Wellington later in the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.