Through my Eye phone

By RobertHowell

#ArtsLancashire clutter

We've done our penultimate stage walking the Leeds Liverpool Canal today - from Burscough to Maghull.

This photo is of a piece of public art by Thompson Dagnall. It is near to Halsall in West Lancs where the first bit of the canal was dug in 1770. The sculpture depicts a navvie digging to mark the event. Thom Dagnall is a great guy who has done a lot of work in Lancashire. I knew this was one of his as soon as I saw it. The problem is that what was really needed was a car park. No doubt Planners, British Waterways, and local authority arts officers spent weeks on consultation, tendering, fundraising and report writing. They clearly ended up putting it in the wrong place. I think it needs a caption: "Get that car off my foot".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.