ABT

By ABT

Wedding dress

Since the wedding in 2000, my wedding dress has been hanging in my loft.  I've spent a lot of time in the loft, previously using it as a craft space for making my cards and of course, storing all the bits and pieces from over the years. I've brushed past this dress time after time with the thought at the back of my mind that it's a shame to have it just hanging there but never quite wanting to part with it.  Unfortunately that marriage ended, albeit very amicably, but I always felt that we should always hang onto our wedding dresses - never really hearing anyone saying they had got rid of theirs - and I also thought I would one day get it made into another piece of clothing, which I now think would not have been practical or do-able due to all the embroidery on it.
Anyway, after clearing out my house this week and putting my belongings into storage, I finally decided to see if someone else would like to wear it.  My mum enquired with the local charity shop in Pitlochry to see if they would take it - which they did.  So off my mum and dad went and took it to the shop.  
I'm glad someone may get the use of it.  It was stunningly created with gold-coloured embroidery on the bodice and on the train - as you can see from the back of it in the photo. 
Sometimes we don't need to hold on to material things - especially so if others can get the use of it - and there will always be memories and photographs to keep hold of.  
I hope someone starts their married life in it - I'm sure they will look beautiful - and the Cancer Research shop will benefit too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.