Another view

A few days ago I posted a photo of the  Church of St Lawrence, Appleby. It was taken from the riverside and I realise from the comments that it was a bit misleading. It is actually quite a substantial church and, as it looked good in the sunshine as I was passing the gate this afternoon, I decided to show it properly. 

The oldest part of the church is the Tower, which dates back to the 12th century. The porch has a Norman arch. In the 14th century, following destruction suffered during the Border Wars, there was much rebuilding and restoration. Later, in the 17th century, there were many improvements carried out, mainly, as I mentioned before, by Lady Anne Clifford. I was not able to get the right angle to show the whole of the church, the missing bit at the end is the Lady Chapel built by Lady Anne. (Knottman2 commented that this might have been the case - he was right!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.