Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Firewood

We needed firewood to take camping next week so we decided to get a half cord so we would have enough for our fireplace when it gets cold.  When Pipersdad goes to get it, the guys point him to the appropriate stacks and he loads it himself.  His back has been a little iffy so I suggested having it delivered for an extra $25 charge.  They would bring it and dump it in the driveway and we would have to pick it up and stack it.  Then I had a better idea....I decided to go get it.  So I went alone and asked them if they'd would just dump it in the truck for me.  They said, "Oh no, Ma'am, we'll stack it in the truck for you."  So these are the Bustamante brothers (actually grandsons of the founder) kindly loading the wood for me. :-))  This local family business started small in the 60s and has grown into a huge operation.  My extra gives scale to those woodpiles in the background and these are about half of the piles, not to mention all the wood that is already stacked in premeasured frames and the huge piles of logs that haven't been cut yet.  It was fascinating to see the whole operation.  I'll be seeing it again too, because Pipersdad says I have to go pick up the wood from now on. ;-)

I am grateful to the strong young men for making short work of loading the wood for me.  It made it much easier to stack at home too and we were able to leave what we'll need for camping already stacked in the truck.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.