Nostalgia

At the weekend I wrote a little blog post to mark the fact that I'd just reached 5000 photos-of-the-day.

At the time I noticed that on the league table of cameras I'd used to take the photos-of-the-day, there was a clear winner.  A somewhat long-in-the-tooth Ricoh GR Digital (that was a cool wee camera back in 2006 when I bought it).  8MB images, fixed prime lens (equivalent to 28mm), magnesium frame and weighing in at about 200g.  

For a long time it was the 'camera I always had with me' - and it clocked up almost 1000 of my 5000 images.  So, I decided to dig it out and see how if felt to use it.  Still admirably light, but did feel a bit sluggish compared with some of the more modern cameras in my collection, and screen feels very small.  I was interested to find that there was still some charge in the battery, and I was delighted to find (on the 1 GB memory card) that there were still a sequence of images I took at the London Olympics. 

Picture of the day 5004

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.