The Willie Wallie

Known to locals as the 'Willie Wallie', and built in 1879, the William Wallace Hotel is the only hotel in Balmain that hasn't been trendified. It once formed an integral part of the shipbuilding and industrial history of the local area.

I was walking past today with my sister and she reminded me that I'd promised to take a photo of the mural inside.
Painted in 1995, there are many regular patrons in the scene, including a friend's husband who has since died.

You can see him in the first extra, on a stool on the left.
You can also see Mel Gibson, in a nod to Braveheart.
The hotel itself is in the second extra.

Anyhow, my sister will have the photo enlarged and framed and surprise her friend with it.
I hope she doesn't follow Blip:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.